Joint supplements for older cats in Canada come as sprinkle capsules, soft chews, soft gels, liquids and powders. Most are built on glucosamine and chondroitin. A few use green lipped mussel, omega-3 oils or newer ingredients. The table below sets out what each brand publishes about its own product, so you can compare them side by side.
We are Trueleaf Petcare, and our Senior Support chews for cats are in the table. Every row is limited to what the brand or a Canadian retailer publishes, and the brands are listed in alphabetical order.
Which joint supplements for senior cats are sold in Canada, and what is in them?
| Product | Where the brand says it is made | Format | Main listed ingredients | Amount for a 10 lb cat | Price seen (CAD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Antinol Plus for Cats, 30 | "manufactured in the USA from globally sourced ingredients" | Twist-off soft gel | Green lipped mussel oil from New Zealand, Antarctic krill oil. Amounts not listed | 1 soft gel a day | $39.36, PetMeds Direct |
| Cosequin for Cats, 80 | "manufactured in the United States with globally sourced ingredients" | Sprinkle capsule | Per capsule: glucosamine HCl 125 mg, chondroitin sulfate 100 mg, manganese 1 mg | 1 a day for 4 to 6 weeks, then 1 every other day | $28.99, Chewy.ca |
| Dasuquin for Cats, 84 | "made in the United States with globally sourced ingredients" | Sprinkle capsule | Per capsule (Canadian listing): glucosamine HCl 125 mg, chondroitin 100 mg, ASU 25 mg, Boswellia 11 mg | 2 a day to start, then 1 daily or every other day | $32.77, PetMeds Direct |
| Flexadin Cat, 60 chews (Vetoquinol) | Not stated on the pages we read | Chicken soft chew | Not listed on the Canadian page we read | Not stated on the Canadian page | $39.90, PetMeds Direct |
| Omega Alpha GlucosaPet, 120 mL | "Made in Canada" (Vitasave listing) | Liquid | Per 5 mL: glucosamine sulfate 500 mg, MSM 500 mg, chondroitin 150 mg, devil's claw 20 mg, Boswellia 10 mg | 1/2 tsp (2.5 mL) a day | $8.99, Homes Alive |
| TRI-ACTA H.A. Maximum Strength, Small Dogs and Cats, 60 g | "Made in Canada" | Powder, 1 g scoop | Per scoop: glucosamine sulfate 231 mg, glucosamine HCl 231 mg, MSM 443 mg, chondroitin 88 mg, hyaluronic acid 7 mg | 1/2 scoop under 10 lb, 1 scoop from 10 lb | $27.99, Homes Alive |
| Trueleaf Senior Support Chews for Cats, 50 g (100 chews) | Made in Canada by Trueleaf Petcare of Vernon, BC | Small soft chew | Hemp seed oil and powder, cranberry, calendula extract, flaxseed, green lipped mussel, pomegranate, salmon oil. Contains shellfish and fish | 4 chews a day (5.1 to 10 lb) | $9.99, trueleaf.com |
Prices are what we saw on the named retailer's site on October 20, 2026. They change often, and every brand may sell other sizes.
How common are joint problems in older cats?
Very common, and often missed. The Merck Veterinary Manual says 60% to 90% of older cats have osteoarthritis, and the Cornell Feline Health Center reports signs of joint disease in 90% of cats over 12. International Cat Care puts it simply: cats are masters of hiding pain.
What are the signs of joint pain in a cat?
Cats rarely limp. International Cat Care and Cornell list quieter changes:
- Hesitating before jumping up or down, or no longer jumping at all
- Trouble getting in and out of the litter box, or accidents outside it
- A matted or scruffy coat from grooming less
- Sleeping more and playing less
If you notice any of these, book a vet visit first. Effective prescription options now exist for cats, including a monthly injection for arthritis pain, and pain relief must be prescribed by a vet. Never give a cat a pain medicine made for people or dogs.
What does the evidence say about joint supplements for cats?
It is limited, and it is worth knowing that before you buy any brand.
- Glucosamine and chondroitin. VCA Animal Hospitals says controlled studies have failed to show a benefit in cats or dogs, and the Merck Veterinary Manual cites a review that found no evidence of an effect on arthritis pain.
- Omega-3 fatty acids. VCA says omega-3s can help with long-term joint inflammation but notes that many products do not contain enough. Merck calls the evidence in cats unclear.
- Green lipped mussel. One 2010 study fed 40 cats a diet with green lipped mussel, omega-3 and glucosamine together, and their activity rose. Because the ingredients were combined, the study cannot say what mussel did on its own.
A supplement works best as one part of a plan your vet agrees with, alongside the home changes below.
What else helps an older cat with stiff joints?
International Cat Care and VCA recommend:
- Steps or a ramp up to favourite spots such as the bed, sofa or window.
- A litter box with at least one low side so your cat can step in.
- Warm, soft beds, such as igloo beds, in quiet places.
- A healthy weight. Extra weight puts strain on sore joints, and weight-loss diets have been shown to help in trials.
Where does Trueleaf fit?
Trueleaf Petcare is a Vernon, BC company that makes veterinarian-formulated supplements for dogs and cats. Senior Support Chews for Cats are a separate formula made for cats, not a smaller dose of a dog product. The blend includes green lipped mussel, hemp seed oil, calendula, cranberry and salmon oil, and it helps support normal joint function and mobility in older cats.
Each 50 g bag holds 100 small chews. A 10 lb cat takes 4 a day, so a bag lasts 25 days. The dosing chart lists every weight. The chews contain shellfish and fish. Our guide on why cat supplements are not small dog supplements explains why the formula is separate.
Common questions
At what age should a cat start a joint supplement?
There is no set age. Many owners start when a cat is a senior, around 10 to 12, or when the signs above appear. Ask your vet at your cat's senior check-up.
Can I give my cat my dog's joint supplement?
No. Use a product labelled for cats. Dog products are dosed for dogs and can contain ingredients or amounts that are not right for cats.
Will my cat eat a joint supplement?
Cats are fussy. Sprinkle capsules and liquids can be mixed into wet food, and soft chews are given like a treat. Pick the format your cat will take every day.
How long before I see a difference?
Joint supplements are given daily over weeks. Several labels use a higher amount for the first few weeks. Keep notes on jumping, grooming and litter box use so you and your vet can judge.
Product details checked on October 20, 2026, from each brand's website or the Canadian retailer named in the table. Labels change, so check the pack before you buy.
