Skin and itch supplements for dogs in Canada are mostly fish oils and soft chews. Some rely on omega-3 from fish, some add quercetin, colostrum or probiotics, and they vary a lot in how much of each ingredient they publish. The table below sets out what each brand publishes about its own product, so you can compare them side by side.
We are Trueleaf Petcare, and our Immune + Allergy Support Oil is in the table. Every row is limited to what the brand or a Canadian retailer publishes, and the brands are listed in alphabetical order.
Which skin and itch supplements for dogs are sold in Canada, and what is in them?
| Product | Where the brand says it is made | Format | Main listed ingredients | Amount for a 40 lb dog | Price seen (CAD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grizzly Salmon Plus, 237 mL | Not stated on the pages we read | Pump oil | Salmon, pollock and whitefish oil. Per teaspoon: EPA 598 mg, DHA 368 mg | 1 1/2 pumps a day (26 to 50 lb) | $22.49, Homes Alive |
| NaturVet Hemp Allergy Aid, 60 soft chews | "Made in the USA" | Soft chew | Per chew: hemp seed oil 200 mg, hemp seed powder 200 mg, turmeric 50 mg, quercetin 25 mg, bromelain 25 mg, EPA 21 mg, DHA 14 mg | 3 chews (21 to 40 lb) | $25.99, Homes Alive |
| Nordic Naturals Omega-3 Pet, 237 mL | Not stated on the pages we read | Liquid fish oil | Anchovy, sardine, mackerel and herring oil. Per teaspoon: EPA 736 mg, DHA 506 mg (Vitasave listing) | 1 tsp (5 mL) a day (40 to 59 lb) | $44.99, Well.ca |
| Nutrience Care Skin and Coat, 100 chews | Not stated on the pages we read | Soft chew | Per chew: omega-3 280 mg, DHA 90 mg, EPA 35 mg, plus vitamin E, zinc and biotin | 2 chews (25 to 75 lb) | $39.99, PetSmart.ca |
| Open Farm Skin and Coat Chews, 90 | Not stated on the pages we read | Soft chew | Per chew: salmon oil 400 mg, kelp 200 mg, cod liver oil 80 mg, plus vitamins C and E, zinc, biotin | 2 chews (26 to 75 lb), half for the first week | $38.99, PetSmart.ca |
| PetHonesty Allergy Support, salmon, 90 chews | "made right here in the USA" | Soft chew | Quercetin, colostrum, fish oil, 8 probiotic strains. Amounts not listed | 2 chews (26 to 50 lb) | Sold on Amazon.ca, price varies |
| Trueleaf Immune + Allergy Support Oil, 237 mL | Made in Canada by Trueleaf Petcare of Vernon, BC | Oil over food | Cold-pressed hemp seed oil, salmon and anchovy oil, quercetin, pomegranate. Contains fish | 1 tsp (5 mL) a day (26 to 50 lb) | $47.99, trueleaf.com |
| Vet's Best Seasonal Allergy Support, 60 tablets | Not stated on the pages we read | Chewable tablet | Per tablet: MSM 200 mg, citrus bioflavonoids 150 mg, nettle 150 mg, vitamin C 100 mg, quercetin 75 mg, perilla 50 mg. No omega-3 | Not stated on the Canadian pages we read | $16.99, Ren's Pets |
Prices are what we saw on the named retailer's site on October 20, 2026, using the regular price where an item was on sale. They change often, and every brand may sell other sizes.
Why is my dog itchy? Start here
Itch has many causes, and a supplement is not the first step. The Canadian Veterinary Medical Association and the Merck Veterinary Manual list the usual order your vet works through:
- Parasites. Fleas and mites come first. Year-round flea control rules out the most common cause.
- Infection. Bacterial and yeast skin infections cause itch on their own and need treatment.
- Food allergy. This is diagnosed with a strict elimination diet of about 8 weeks. Blood tests for food allergy are not reliable.
- Environmental allergy. Pollen, dust mites and moulds, often seasonal at first.
Effective prescription options exist for allergic itch, including daily tablets, a monthly injection and allergy immunotherapy. If your dog is scratching, licking or chewing enough to break the skin, see your vet.
What does the evidence say about omega-3 for itchy skin?
- It is an add-on, not a fix for a flare. The International Committee on Allergic Diseases of Animals says fatty acids by mouth are not useful for a sudden flare and are unlikely to work on their own.
- It takes time. The same guidelines say a benefit may not show for about two months. VCA says fish oil can take several weeks.
- Some dogs respond and some do not. Merck reports that about 20% of dogs with allergic itch improve on fatty acids.
- No formula has been shown to be best. The guidelines found no evidence that any particular combination or ratio works better.
What about quercetin and probiotics?
Several products in the table, including ours, use quercetin. We found no published clinical trial of quercetin on its own for itch in dogs, so the honest summary is that it is unproven. The same guidelines found too little evidence to recommend probiotics for allergic skin. The CVMA also notes that probiotics containing animal protein can spoil a food trial, so check with your vet before starting one during an elimination diet.
What to look for on the label
- What is in each serving. A label that lists amounts lets you compare. A long list with no amounts does not.
- The daily amount for your dog's weight, and how long the pack lasts at that amount.
- The protein source. Fish oil chews can also contain chicken, beef or other proteins. That matters during a food trial.
- The cautions. Some labels limit long-term use or use with other medicines. Read them, and tell your vet what your dog is taking.
Our guide on how to read a pet supplement label walks through the whole panel.
Where does Trueleaf fit?
Trueleaf Petcare is a Vernon, BC company that makes veterinarian-formulated supplements for dogs and cats. Immune + Allergy Support Oil combines cold-pressed hemp seed oil and salmon and anchovy oil with quercetin and pomegranate. It helps maintain a balanced immune system and normal histamine levels, and it is the one Trueleaf oil that contains fish oil.
It goes over food once a day by weight, so a 40 lb dog takes 1 teaspoon and a 237 mL bottle lasts about 47 days. The label says it is not for long-term use unless your vet directs it, and not for dogs with bleeding disorders or on other medicines without your vet's advice. Our guide to omega-3s for pets explains the ingredient in more detail.
Common questions
Can I give my dog fish oil every day?
Many fish oils are labelled for daily use. Follow the label, and ask your vet if your dog has a bleeding disorder, pancreatitis or is on other medicines. Merck notes that high amounts can cause diarrhea or weight gain.
How long does an itch supplement take to work?
Weeks, not days. The veterinary guidelines say about two months before judging an omega-3 supplement. If your dog is very itchy, see your vet now rather than waiting.
Is a supplement a substitute for allergy medicine?
No. Supplements can sit alongside a plan your vet sets, and in some dogs may help a vet lower a medicine dose. They do not replace treatment.
Oil or chew?
Use whichever your dog will take every day. Oils are easy to measure by weight. Chews are easier to give but often contain other proteins. Our guide on chews or oil compares the two.
Product details checked on October 20, 2026, from each brand's website or the Canadian retailer named in the table. Labels change, so check the pack before you buy.
