The hip and joint supplements most often sold for dogs in Canada are Blends for Life, Dasuquin, Flexadin, GlycoFlex, Nutrience Care, Open Farm, Thrive, TRI-ACTA and Trueleaf Hip + Joint Support. They are built on different ingredients: some rely on glucosamine and chondroitin, some on green lipped mussel, and some on newer ingredients such as UC-II collagen or Boswellia. The table below sets out what each brand publishes about its own product, so you can compare them side by side.

We are Trueleaf Petcare, and our Hip + Joint Support Chews are one of the products in the table. Every row is limited to what the brand or a Canadian retailer publishes, and the brands are listed in alphabetical order.

Which hip and joint supplements for dogs are sold in Canada, and what is in them?

Product Where the brand says it is made Format Main listed ingredients Amount on the label (maintenance) Price seen (CAD)
Blends for Life Green Lipped Mussel+ "Made in Canada with human-grade ingredients" Powder, 160 g Green lipped mussel, turmeric, black pepper. Amounts not listed By teaspoon: 20 to 40 lb, 1/8 tsp. 40 to 60 lb, 1/4 tsp $39.99, PetMax
Dasuquin Advanced with ESM (small to medium) "manufactured in the United States with globally sourced ingredients" Soft chew, 64 Per chew: glucosamine HCl 600 mg, MSM 400 mg, chondroitin 250 mg, eggshell membrane 175 mg, ASU 45 mg, plus omega-3 10 to 29 lb: 1 every other day. 30 to 59 lb: 1 a day. Higher for the first 4 to 6 weeks $55.13, PetMedsDirect.ca
Flexadin Advanced (Vetoquinol) Not stated on the pages we read (Lavaltrie, Quebec company) 3 g soft chew, 30 or 60 Per chew: Boswellia serrata 190 mg, omega-3 from flaxseed 73 mg, UC-II chicken cartilage 40 mg, vitamin E 23 IU, omega-3 from fish oil 16 mg 1 chew a day, any weight $67.49 for 60, PetMedsDirect.ca
GlycoFlex 3 (VetriScience, now Extra Strength Healthy Hip & Joint) "manufactured in U.S. facilities" Chew Per chew: glucosamine HCl 500 mg, MSM 500 mg, green lipped mussel 300 mg, DMG 50 mg Up to 30 lb: 1 every other day. 31 to 60 lb: 1 a day. 61 to 100 lb: 2 No current Canadian price found
Nutrience Care Hip & Joint "Our Care supplements are proudly made in Quebec, Canada." 4 g chew, 100 Per chew: glucosamine HCl 250 mg, MSM 80 mg, chondroitin 75 mg, green lipped mussel 50 mg, turmeric 40 mg, salmon oil 20 mg Up to 25 lb: 1. 25 to 75 lb: 2. Over 75 lb: 3 $31.99, Chewy.ca
Open Farm Hip & Joint Supplement Chews Not stated on the pages we read Soft chew, 90 Per chew: MSM 200 mg, vitamin C 85 mg, turmeric 50 mg, green lipped mussel 50 mg, Boswellia 30 mg, ParActin 25 mg, kelp 25 mg, hyaluronic acid 10 mg. No glucosamine or chondroitin Up to 25 lb: 1. 26 to 75 lb: 2. Over 75 lb: 3 $38.99, Homes Alive
Thrive Green Lipped Mussels (Big Country Raw) Not stated (Smithville, Ontario company) Powder, 160 g Powdered green lipped sea mussels, single ingredient 20 lb: 1/4 tsp. 40 lb: 1/2 tsp. 60 lb: 3/4 tsp $39.99, bigcountryraw.ca
TRI-ACTA H.A. Maximum Strength (Integricare) "Made in Canada" (Oakville, Ontario company) Powder, 1 g scoop Per scoop: glucosamine sulfate 231 mg, glucosamine HCl 231 mg, MSM 443 mg, chondroitin 88 mg, hyaluronic acid 7 mg 10 to 35 lb: 1 scoop. 35 to 75 lb: 1.5 to 2 scoops. Double for up to 4 weeks at the start $49.99 for 140 g, Homes Alive
Trueleaf Hip + Joint Support Chews Made in our own human-grade facility in Vernon, British Columbia 3 g soft chew, 30, 66 or 200 New Zealand green lipped mussel, turmeric extract (95% curcuminoids), hemp seed oil and powder. Contains shellfish Daily: 1 chew per 8 lb, no upper limit. Twice the daily amount for the first 10 days $14.99 for 30, $24.99 for 66, $58.99 for 200, trueleaf.com

Prices are what we saw on the named retailer's site on October 20, 2026. They change often, and every brand may sell other sizes.

What are the main types of joint supplement?

  • Glucosamine and chondroitin formulas, often with MSM. Dasuquin, GlycoFlex, Nutrience Care and TRI-ACTA are built on these.
  • Green lipped mussel formulas. Green lipped mussel is a whole-food marine ingredient from New Zealand. Blends for Life, Thrive and Trueleaf are built on it, and several others include smaller amounts.
  • Newer ingredient formulas, such as UC-II collagen and Boswellia in Flexadin, or turmeric, Boswellia and hyaluronic acid in Open Farm.
  • Formats. Chews are the easiest to give. Powders are mixed into food and suit dogs that refuse chews, but they need measuring.

What does the evidence say about joint supplements for dogs?

The research is uneven, and it does not line up with what sells the most.

  • Glucosamine and chondroitin. The Merck Veterinary Manual reports that a meta-analysis found no evidence of a benefit from glucosamine and chondroitin for osteoarthritis pain in dogs. A 2022 review of 72 trials reached a similar conclusion.
  • Omega-3 fatty acids. The same sources found the most consistent evidence for omega-3 fatty acids from marine sources. An earlier systematic review rated the evidence low for every nutraceutical except omega-3 in dogs.
  • Weight. Merck names keeping a dog at a healthy weight as the main way to slow osteoarthritis. No supplement replaces it.
  • Canadian notification numbers. Health Canada describes these products as low-risk veterinary health products sold under a notification process. An NN number on a label tells you the product was notified, not that it has been shown to work.

If your dog is limping, stiff after rest or slow on stairs, see your veterinarian. These signs have many causes, and some need treatment rather than a supplement.

Where does Trueleaf fit?

Trueleaf Petcare is a Vernon, BC company that makes veterinarian-formulated soft chews for dogs and cats in its own human-grade facility. Hip + Joint Support Chews are built on New Zealand green lipped mussel, a marine source of glucosamine, chondroitin and omega fatty acids, with turmeric extract and a hemp seed oil base. They help support joint structure and mobility as part of a daily routine.

The chew is dosed at one per 8 lb of body weight a day, so a 40 lb dog takes 5, and twice that for the first 10 days. A 200-chew bag lasts a 40 lb dog 40 days at the regular amount. The dosing chart lists every weight. The chews contain shellfish.

Common questions

What is the best joint supplement for a senior dog?

There is no single best product for every dog. Start with your veterinarian, keep your dog at a healthy weight, then choose a format your dog will take every day. Our guide to hip and joint support for senior dogs covers what to watch for.

Is green lipped mussel good for dogs?

Green lipped mussel is a whole-food marine ingredient that provides glucosamine, chondroitin and omega fatty acids together. It is a shellfish, so avoid it if your dog has a shellfish allergy.

How long does a joint supplement take to show a difference?

Joint supplements are given daily over weeks, not days. Several labels, including ours, use a higher amount for the first few weeks before dropping to a maintenance amount. Give it consistently for at least a month and keep notes on how your dog moves.

Chew or powder?

Use whichever your dog will take every day. A powder can be cheaper per day but needs measuring. Our guide on supplement formats compares chews, oils, powders and tablets.

Product details checked on October 20, 2026, from each brand's website or the Canadian retailer named in the table. Labels change, so check the pack before you buy.

by Trueleaf Petcare